Review: The Fault in Our Stars

25 Jul

The Fault in Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I thought I wrote a review for this book already. Hmm.

The Fault in Our Stars is about Hazel Lancaster, who was diagnosed with stage 4 thyroid cancer at the age of 13. She underwent an experimental pharmacological treatment that shrunk her tumour. Hazel is now 16 and attending a support group for kids with cancer. Here she meets Augustus, a handsome 17-year-old who she is surprised to find is interested in her.

This is one of the best books I’ve read all year. It is a very fast read, and it was highly enjoyable. John Green’s writing is so engaging. Hazel and Gus (dialogue aside) felt like real kids, and I was eager to learn more about their world. Of course, since it’s a book about kids with cancer… just be prepared to cry. Lots.

The one quibble I have with the book is the dialogue. One example that really stood out to me was when Gus referred to basketball as throwing a spherical object through a toroidal object. They also use words like “univalent” and “existentially fraught”. I can’t believe that anyone would speak this way, even intelligent teenagers with terminal illnesses who are able to read all day. I’ve mentioned this somewhere else—I can’t find the link now—my nickname for this book is Juno with Cancer.

That aside, the book is fantastic. It’s a shame that every time I see it in the bookstores, it’s always in with the other YA books, when it’s suitable for readers of any age. I fear that many readers who avoid the YA section and its endless selection of dystopian trilogies will miss out on this gem. Pick it up if you have the chance.

View all my reviews

3 Responses to “Review: The Fault in Our Stars”

  1. Cassie July 25, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    I wasn’t going to read this book because I really didn’t like Looking for Alaska but then you went and called it the “Juno with Cancer” and that was it for me. I want to read it now.

    • Sherri July 26, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      I hope you like it, Cassie. It’s the first book of John Green’s I’ve read, but I was pretty impressed.

      • Cassie July 26, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

        I may have to read this – everyone I know just loves it.

Leave a Reply

