Review: Aaron & Keja: Time Dragon!

11 Jul

Aaron & Keja: Time DragonAaron & Keja: Time Dragon by Linda Nelson
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I won this book in a LibraryThing giveaway.

We begin on the planet Orgarlan with Ky’debaul, an Elven sorcerer. His powers are waning, and they can only be restored by killing a silver dragon. However, if the silver dragon is killed, it could mean the end of existence. Killing a dragon on Orgarlan is against the law, so the elves send the dragon through a rift to Earth (or a planet like it), where it lives in a lake near Aaron’s house. Aaron lives with her dog Keja and cat Chancy, both of whom she is able to communicate with. The elves follow the dragon through the rift and try to hunt it down, while orcs from Orgarlan, along with Aaron and her friend Mitchell, try to stop the elves.

I was really disappointed in this book. I had to reread several passages to understand what was happening. Part of the reason I had trouble following the story is because the writing is very clunky. There are also so many mistakes in the book: misused words (threw instead of through, shinning instead of shining, waste instead of waist, and so on), misused apostrophes, tenses switched… I could go on. The author also has the tendency to repeat the same word or phrase several times in a paragraph.

At no point is it explored why Aaron is able to communicate with animals—it’s just something that she can do. Also, why will the world end if the dragon dies? There are so many details that aren’t fleshed out. Another thing that bothered me was that I couldn’t get a sense of how old Aaron and Mitchell were. At first, it seemed like they were both around 30, but then we find out that Mitchell still lives with his parents, which makes me think they must be much younger.

The story could have potential if it was rewritten and reviewed by a professional, but ultimately, it’s lacking the finish and polish required of a professional book.

View all my reviews

3 Responses to “Review: Aaron & Keja: Time Dragon!”

  1. sj July 24, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    The whole “world will end if the dragon is slain” sounds vaguely like Fforde’s The Last Dragonslayer.

    Fforde is fantastic, though. This sounds awful.

    • sherrike July 24, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks, sj, I will have to check out that book. I loved Shades of Grey and was hoping his other books were just as good.

      • sj July 24, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

        Oh, definitely do! Over the last few years, he’s become probably one of my top five favourite authors. I actually have the new Thursday Next waiting for me, but I can’t let myself read it until I’ve finished the Tolkien reading for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

